Posted on

Climathon Agia Paraskevi @ ACG

On November 18-19, 2022, CLIMATHON Agia Paraskevi took place at The American College of Greece (ACG) premises. The event was co-organized by the Center of Excellence in Sustainability and the ACG Office of Public Affairs, the Municipality of Agia Paraskevi, and the EIT Climate-KIC Hub Greece, managed by Athena Research Center, under the Auspices of the Μinistry of Environment & Energy, with the participation of the LIFE IP AdaptInGr.

CLIMATHON is an initiative of ΕΙΤ Climate-KIC, supported by the European Institute of Innovation and Technology. It is a 24-hour ideathon that aims to engage and raise awareness among citizens on issues related to the climate crisis and change that the local community is facing. Among others, one of the main objectives is to identify sustainable and innovative solutions with a positive climate impact.

Participants had the opportunity to learn about issues related to the challenge set by the Municipality of Agia Paraskevi, “Improving energy efficiency within the City,” presented by representatives of the Academic and Research sector:

Prof. Phoebe Koundouri presented the global need for climate action; Ms. Evi Tzanakaki talked about Energy efficiency measures for climate-neutral cities; Dr. Constantinos Papadias presented digital energy efficient solutions and the representatives of the LIFE IP AdaptInGr; Dr. Spyridoula Ntemiri and Dr. Gianna Kitsara organized a workshop on climate modeling and predictions for the region of Attica.

Representatives of ACG, Mayor Ms. Vasilis Zorbas and representatives of the Municipality of Agia Paraskevi gave opening remarks.

The three winning teams were:

1st prize: EEPap Team Creating and connecting energy-efficient public buildings. Team members: Elina Karakasi, Androniki Papadopoulou, Zoe Sabarwal, Miranna Samlian. ACG students

2nd prize: EGapp Team. An application on energy saving addressed to domestic end-users. Team members: Nikolas Papanikolaou, Dimitra Zontirou. NTUA students

3rd prize: Renovation Team. A proposal on energy-efficient public open spaces. Team members: Eleftheria Kyriazidi, Anna Lazaridi, Erica Lego, Katerina Zoula. ACG students

The 1st prize award: “Consultation on technology transfer and on options for new entrepreneurs,” offered by the ACG Research Technology and Innovation Network.


Akis Petretzikis

Bake House

Georgas Family

Georgios Gallifianakis

Attica Bakeries


Communication Sponsor

GR Traveller