The Board of Trustees

The American College of Greece Governance: Board of Trustees

The American College of Greece is governed by a voluntary board of trustees – currently twenty-four members. The board holds overall stewardship responsibility for the College, delegating primary operating authority to the president of the College (an ex officio, non-voting member of the board), whom the board selects and regularly evaluates. No voting members of the board receive financial compensation for their service; indeed, all members are expected to support the College through their personal philanthropy. (Numbers in parentheses below indicate year of joining the board.)


Alex Aldous, BA, MA, JD, LLM; New York, New York (2021)
General Counsel, Corporate Secretary, and Chief Government Relations Officer, The Chef’s Warehouse; adjunct professor of Law, Washington College of Law, American University; previously worked as an attorney with Barclays Capital, the investment banking division of Barclays Bank PLC, in London; member of both the Government Relations Leadership Committee and General Counsel Committee of the International Foodservice Distributors Association; member of the Dean’s Counsel of American University’s School of International Service.

William Antholis BA, PhD; Charlottesville, Virginia (2015)
Executive director, Miller Center, University of Virginia; previously managing director, Brookings Institution and key positions in the White House and US State Department.

Drake Behrakis BS, MBA; Lexington, Massachusetts (2017)
President of Marwick Associates, a real estate investment and development company; also active in the Behrakis Foundation, the family’s philanthropic vehicle; previously held various positions with Muro Pharmaceutical Inc. and the Gillette Company.

Spiros Bouas BS; San Francisco, California (2015)
Vice chair, Executive Committee; chair, Finance Committee; Silicon Valley entrepreneur and investor in high technology companies; co-founded LitePoint Corporation, the world leader in wireless device testing.

John Chachas BA, MBA; New York, New York (2015)
Managing partner, Methuselah Advisors, an investment banking and asset management firm he founded in 2010; previously, managing director and Co-head media practice in the Americas, Lazard.

Alma DeMetropolis BS, CFA; New York, New York (2020)
President, New Jersey Market Leadership Team and market manager, J.P. Morgan Private Bank’s New Jersey Market; serves on the Boards of the Liberty Science Center, the Community Food Bank of New Jersey, New Jersey Performing Arts Center, SciTech Scity and Nature Conservancy NJ Advisory Council.

Susan Fuhrman, BA, MA, PhD; Westfield, New Jersey (2018)
Most recently served as the President of Teachers College, Columbia University; founding director and chair, Management Committee of the Consortium for Policy Research in Education (CPRE), and immediate Past-President of the National Academy of Education; influential in creating a new university-assisted public school as part of Penn’s West Philadelphia improvement initiative.

Matt Glendinning BA, MEd, MA, PhD; Providence, Rhode Island (2015)
Head of school, Moses Brown School (RI); previously upper school head, Moorestown Friends School(NJ).

Dena Haritos Tsamitis BS, MS, EdD; Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (2016)
Carnegie Mellon University – Barbara Lazarus Professor in Information Networking; director, Information Networking Institute; founding director, Cylab. Board of Advisors, Executive Women’s Forum, Prime Tech Partners, Red Marlin, RSA Conference.

Martha Kanter, BA, MEd, EdD; New York, New York (2015)
Chair, Advancement Committee; distinguished visiting professor of higher education and senior fellow, New York University and executive director, College Promise Campaign; previously U.S. Under Secretary of Education, responsible for all federal postsecondary programs for the U.S. Department of Education.

Hariclia Karis, BA, JD; Chicago, Illinois (2019)
Litigation partner, Kirkland & Ellis, adjunct professor, Northwestern University School of Law; served in several regulatory agency and government investigations; recently recognized as a Lead Female Trial Lawyer for her work in large exposure civil litigation.

Nikos Koumettis, BS, MS; Dublin, Ireland (2010, 2021)
President, Europe Operating Unit, The Coca-Cola Company (oversees 40 countries); he has been with Coca-Cola since 2001; began his career in Marketing, Sales and Marketing working for Kraft Jacobs Suchard, Elgeka and Papastratos / Phillip Morris; member of the Board of Directors of Canada Goose; co-founder of the Social Initiative “Regeneration” which aims to strengthen the skills of young people in Greece and place talented graduates in the labor market.

Vana Lavida BA, MBA; Athens, Greece (2013)
ACG D ‘79; founder and board chair, MDA Hellas, an association for the care of people with neuromuscular disorders.

Lee Ann Leahy BSBA, CPA; Boston, Massachusetts (2014)
Secretary, Executive Committee, Chair, Audit Committee; previously higher education audit partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers, client experience: Boston University, Columbia, MIT, NYU, Princeton, Stanford, Yale.

Jim Logothetis BS, MBA, CPA; Atlanta, Georgia (2015)
Chair of the Board; previously global coordinating partner, Ernst & Young, client experience: Coca- Cola, Chrysler, Whirlpool, Porsche N.A., 3M, Sara Lee; served on the boards of numerous not for profit organizations and educational institutions, including: Archbishop lakovos Leadership 100 Endowment Fund, National Hellenic Museum, Hellenic American Academy, DePaul University etc.

Alexander Macridis BA, JD, MBA; Athens, Greece (2014)
Chairman and managing director, Chryssafidis S.A.; general secretary, Federation of Greek Industries; member, board of directors: Aegean Airlines, Titan Cement, The Hellenic Initiative.

Angelo Manioudakis BSc, MBA; Boston, Massachusetts (2014)
Chair, Investment Committee; CEO and Managing Partner, Two Lantern Investment Partners.

Dan Miller BA, MA, PhD; Providence, Rhode Island (2014)
Chair, Pierce Committee; head, The Urban School of San Francisco; former head, Wheeler School (RI).

Helena Mitchell, BS, MS, PhD; Atlanta, Georgia (2018)
Regents researcher for the state of Georgia; executive director, Center for Advanced Communications Policy and principal research scientist, Georgia Institute of Technology; principal investigator, Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center for Wireless Inclusive Technologies.

Lisa O’Donnell BA, JD; Princeton, New Jersey (2015)
Managing director, BlackRock Inc; chief operating officer, BlackRock Global Allocation Platform.

John Pyrovolakis BA, PhD; New York, New York (2013)
Founder and CEO, Innovation Accelerator, a public private partnership with National Science Foundation; managing general partner, National Innovation Fund.

Milton Sipp BA, MEd;Bronx, New York (2014)
Assistant head of School and head of Middle School, Riverdale Country School (NY); previously national director, Board of the National Association of Independent Schools.

Deborah Wince-Smith BA, MA; Washington, DC (2017)
Vice chair, Executive Committee; President & CEO, Council on Competitiveness; President, Global Federation of Competitiveness Councils; previously, White House official, Assistant Secretary Commerce, IRS Oversight Board, Nasdaq-Omx Board; Honorary Doctorates: Michigan State, U Toledo, Queen’s Belfast, Worcester Polytechnic, U South Carolina.

David G. Horner, ex officio BA, MA, MBA, PhD; Boston, Massachusetts and Athens, Greece (2009)
President, The American College of Greece; previously president, North Park University (IL) and Barrington College (RI).

Chairs Emeriti

Roberta B. Deree | LLD; Honorary Trustee; Phoenix, Arizona

Tom C. Korologos | BA, MA, LLD; Honorary Trustee; US Ambassador to Belgium

*Ferdinand K. Thun | BA, LLD; Honorary Trustee; Wyomissing, Pennsylvania