Courses

Accessing your course

Blackboard Learn running courses (containers with students) are created approximately 10 days before the first day of classes for each semester, term or session and faculty is enrolled.

Once the late registration is over, the running courses are updated with faculty and student enrollments.

In case there is a need to work ahead, you can use the Working Template container that exists in all faculty BB Learn user accounts OR request a preparatory (Prep) container for a specific course. In this case, you are able to use the Course Copy tool to copy the content to your running course. Keep in mind that the Prep course will NOT have student enrollments.

To request the creation or removal of a Prep course container:

 

Once you log in to BB Learn, you will view two tabs.
The My Institution tab and the Courses tab. You can access your courses via both tabs.

Via the My Institution tab and the My Courses Module

Under the My Courses module and the area “Courses where you are: Instructor”, you will find all the courses you participate as Instructor. Click on the link so as to enter and build the course.

Via the Courses Tab and the Course List Module

In this tab you will find the Course List module and all the courses you participate in as Instructor or Student.

 

The Course Container is the first thing that you see when you click a course link. On the left side, you will find the course menu which allows you to access the various course sub-areas. To activate an area, click the corresponding button. To be able to add content to your course as an Instructor/Teaching Assistant (Instructor View) make sure that the “Edit Mode” option at the right part of your page is “On”. Turn the “Edit Mode” to “Off” for the Student View.

Edit Mode

 

View your course as a student with the Student Preview Mode

 

Student PreviewYou can also view the page as a student by clicking the button. After a few seconds, the page will enter into Student Preview Mode. Using this feature you can view, participate and browse the entire course container exactly as a student would.

Keep in mind that a preview user is created every time you use this feature. When you try to exit Student Preview Mode a pop up window will open, asking whether you want to delete the user and its data or not. It is recommended to select the Delete option, unless you temporarily leaving the student preview to complete a task in your own instructor user account. You can also change this option from inside the Student Preview Mode by clicking Settings at the top-right of the screen and then select whether to keep or delete the preview user when you exit.